About the project

Benois de la Danse, the international ballet prize known as the “Ballet Oscar,” is awarded annually for the most prominent accomplishments in choreography during the previous year.
The competition was founded in 1991 in Moscow by the International Dance Association (now the International Choreography Union) and presented for the first time the same year on the stage of the Bolshoi Theatre.

The outstanding choreographer and the president of the International Choreography Union Yuri Grigorovich has remained the program’s artistic director and chairman of the jury since the prize’s inception. Benois Center, a public non-profit organization, acts as the program’s organizer and directorate. The prize statuette was created by the famous sculptor Igor Ustinov, member of the famed Benois family.

Every year the international jury consisting of the world’s most prominent choreographers – heads of the largest ballet companies, outstanding dancers, famous teachers and world stars – makes nominations and, after elaborating through the year, determines the winners.

Shortly after its creation, the project was placed under UNESCO patronage in recognition of its tremendous creative potential and the ability to guide the development of ballet in Russia and in the world. In 1996 the competition was included in the World Decade for Cultural Development program.

In 2002 Russia’s Ministry of Culture included the project in the Cultural Heritage of Russia Federal Program.

In 2009 Benois de la Danse was placed under patronage and granted the right to use the logo of the European Cultural Parliament as a program of international importance.

Over 26 years of its existence, the prize was awarded in Moscow, in the Bolshoi Theatre and the State Kremlin Palace, in the UNESCO Palace in Paris, the National Theatre in Warsaw, the Unter den Linden State Opera in Berlin and the State Theatre in Stuttgart.

In 2002 the project, now grown to the size of a world ballet festival, returned to the Bolshoi Theatre.

All proceeds from the festival’s gala nights go towards personal assistance to ballet veterans of Moscow dance companies.

О проекте

Международный балетный приз «Бенуа де ла Данс» (Benois de la Dansе), известный в мире как «Балетный Оскар», ежегодно присуждается за наиболее выдающиеся работы в области хореографии за минувший год.
Приз «Бенуа де ла Данс» учрежден в 1991 году в Москве Международной ассоциацией деятелей хореографии (ныне — Международный союз деятелей хореографии) и в том же году впервые представлен на сцене Большого театра России.

С первого дня существования программы ее художественным руководителем и председателем жюри по должности является президент Международного союза деятелей хореографии, выдающийся хореограф Юрий Григорович. В качестве дирекции и организатора программы выступает общественная некоммерческая организация «Центр Бенуа». Автор призовой статуэтки — известный скульптор Игорь Устинов, представитель прославленного семейства Бенуа.

Ежегодно сменяемое международное жюри, состоящее из самых авторитетных деятелей мировой хореографии — руководителей крупнейших балетных трупп, выдающихся хореографов, известных педагогов и звезд мирового балета, выдвигает номинантов и, работая на протяжении года, в итоге определяет лучших.

С самого момента создания в 1992 году ЮНЕСКО приняла этот проект под свой патронаж, высоко оценив его огромный творческий потенциал и способность влиять на процесс развития балета в России и мире. В 1996 году приз был включен в программу «Всемирное десятилетие культуры».

В 2002 году Министерство культуры Российской Федерации включило проект в Федеральную программу «Культурное наследие России».

В 2009 проект «Бенуа де ла Данс» получил патронат и право на логотип Европейского культурного парламента как программа международного значения.

За 26 лет своего существования приз «Бенуа де ла Данс» вручался в Москве, в Большом театре и Государственном Кремлевском дворце, во Дворце ЮНЕСКО в Париже, Национальном театре в Варшаве, Государственной опере «Унтер-ден-Линден» в Берлине, а также Государственном театре в Штутгарте.

В 2002 году проект, расширившийся до рамок фестиваля мирового балета, вновь вернулся на сцену Большого театра России.

Сбор от гала-вечеров фестиваля передается в виде персональной материальной помощи ветеранам балета различных танцевальных коллективов Москвы.