Helgi Tomasson

Helgy Tomasson was born in Reykjavik and started to learn ballet at school within the National Theatre.

When he was 15, the beginner left for Copenhagen where he studied and performed in a small theatre of Pantomime. In Autumn of 1959, when he was 17, he met Jerome Robbinson who helped him to get a scholarship in New York school within the American Ballet.

Soon Helgy Tomasson got an invitation from Gef&y Ballet and in two years from Harkness Ballet. Within 6 years of work in this company he became one of its most famous dancers.

In 1969 Helgy Tomasson as a representative of the USA took part in Moscow Ballet Contest and won Silver Medal (Gold was won by Michail Baryshnikov that year). In 1970 he was invited to New York City Ballet as a leading dancer, where his perfect classic style and mastership of a partner allowed him to perform a great number of leading parts, quite a lot of them were staged especially for him?

In 1985 Helgy Tomasson became an artistic director of San Francisco Ballet and has been remaining in this post till nowadays. He staged for this company several performances, including “Swan Lake“ and „Sleeping Beauty” which were warmly accepted by critics Since he joined thes company, such famous choreographers as William Forsyte, David Bintly and others began staging their performances especially for San Francisco Ballet.

In 1990 Tomasson was invited to his Motherland, Iceland. He went there together with 16 dance from San Francisco Ballet for taking part in Reykjavik Festival of Arts. During the Festival he was awarded a title of Comandor of Falkon Order — the award presented by President — for outstanding achievements in art.





John TarasStanton Welch
Copyright © 2002—2017 Benois Centre
benois@theatre.ru

Хельги Томассон

Хельги Томассон родился в Рейкьявике и начал учиться балету в школе при Национальном театре. В пятнадцать лет начинающий танцовщик отправился в Копенгаген, где занимался и выступал в небольшом театре Пантомимы, а осенью 1959 года, в возрасте 17 лет, он встретился с Джеромом Роббинсом, который помог ему получить стипендию в Нью-Йоркскую школу труппы Американский балет.

Вскоре Хельги Томассон получил приглашение в Джеффри Балет. И через два года в Харкнесс Балет. За шесть лет работы в этой труппе он стал одним из самых известных ее танцовщиков.

В 1969 году Хельги Томассон как представитель США принял участие в Московском балетном конкурсе, где выиграл серебряную медаль (золото в тот год получил Михаил Барышников). В 1970 его пригласили в Нью-Йорк-Сити Балет на положение ведущего танцовщика, где отточенный классический стиль и мастерство партнера позволили ему исполнять множество главных партий, немалое число которых было поставлено специально для него…

В 1985 году Хельги Томассон стал художественным руководителем Балета Сан-Франциско и остается на этом посту по сей день. Он поставил для этой труппы несколько спектаклей, в том числе тепло принятые критикой «Лебединое озеро» и «Спящую красавицу». С его приходом такие известные хореографы, как Уильям Форсайт, Дэвид Бинтли и другие стали ставить спектакли специально для Балета Сан-Франциско.

В 1990 году Томассона пригласили на родину, в Исландию, куда он поехал с шестнадцатью танцовщиками из Сан-Франциско Балета для участив в Рейкьявикском Фестивале Искусств. Во время фестиваля Хельги Томассон был удостоен звания Командора ордена Фалькова — награды, вручаемой Президентом, высшего гражданского ордена страны — за выдающиеся достижения в искусстве.





Джон ТарасУильям Уайтнер
Copyright © 2002—2017 Центр Бенуа
benois@theatre.ru